First Nations Fisheries

A United Voice for First Nations Fisheries


AAA: Aboriginal Aquaculture Association

AAA: Aboriginal Affairs Advisor (DFO)

AABM: Aggregate Abundance Based Management

AADNC: Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

AAROM: Aboriginal Aquatic Resource and Oceans Management

ABM: Abundance- or Area-Based Management

ACC: Aquaculture Coordinating Committee

ADM: Assistant Deputy Minister

AFN: Assembly of First Nations

AFO: Aboriginal Fisheries Officer

AFS: Aboriginal Fisheries Strategy

AFSAR: Aboriginal Funds for Species at Risk

AHC: Area Harvest Committee

AIHP: Aboriginal Inland Habitat Program

AIS: Aquatic Invasive Species

AMAC: Aquaculture Management Advisory Committee

APC: Atlantic Policy Congress

APCFNC: Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs

ARM: Aquatic Resource Management

ATK: Aboriginal traditional knowledge

ATP: Allocation transfer program

AWG: Aquaculture Working Group


BCAFN: BC Assembly of First Nations

BCI: BC Interior


CCIRA: Central Coast Indigenous Resource Alliance

CCTAC: Canadian commercial total allowable catch

CEAA: Canadian Environmental Assessment Act

CEPA: Canadian Environmental Protection Act

CFA: Comprehensive Fisheries Agreement

CFE: Commercial Fishing Enterprise

CFIA: Canadian Food Inspection Agency

CHN: Council of the Haida Nation

CMWG: Co-management Working Group

COSEWIC: Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

CPUE: Catch per unit effort

CSAB: Commercial Salmon Advisory Board

CSAF: Commercial Salmon Allocation Framework

CSAP: Centre for Scientific Advice Pacific (formerly PSARC)

CSPI: Southern BC Chinook Strategic Planning Initiative

CSTC: Carrier Sekani Tribal Council

CTAC: Canadian total allowable catch

CTC: Chinook Technical Committee

CTD: Catch to date

CU: Conservation Unit

CWT: Coded wire tag


DFO: Department of Fisheries and Oceans (Fisheries and Oceans Canada)

DU: Designatable Unit


EAWG: Economic Access Working Group (FNFC)

EC: Executive Committee

ECCC: Environment and Climate Change Canada

ENGO: Environmental Non-Governmental Organization

EO: Economic opportunity

ER: Exploitation rate

ESSR: Excess salmon to spawning requirement


Forum: Forum on Conservation and Harvest Planning for Fraser Salmon

FAM: Fisheries and Aquaculture Management

FAO: Fisheries and Agriculture Organization (United Nations)

FBC: Fraser Basin Council

FN: First Nation

FN_ISH ICC: First Nations Integrated Salmon Harvest Interim Coordinating Committee

FNAAP: First Nations Aquaculture Advisory Panel

FNEMC: First Nations Energy and Mining Council

FNFC: First Nations Fisheries Council

FNHC: First Nations Health Council

FNLC: First Nations Leadership Council

FNS: First Nations Summit

FPP: Fisheries Protection Program

FRAFS: Fraser River Aboriginal Fisheries Secretariat

FRAWG: Fraser River and Approach Working Group

FRSSI: Fraser River Sockeye Spawning Initiative

FRP: Fraser River Panel

FSC: Food social ceremonial

FSCWG: FSC/Section 35.1 Working Group (FNFC)

FSR: Fraser Salmon Roadmap

FSRPG: Fraser Salmon Roadmap Planning Group

FVAFS: Fraser Valley Aboriginal Fisheries Society

FWJTF: Fraser Watershed Joint Technical Forum


G&C: Grants and Contributions


HR: Harvest rate


IFMP: Integrated Fisheries Management Plan

IHPC: Integrated Harvest Planning Committee (Salmon)

IMAP: Integrated Management of Aquaculture Plans

IMAWG: Island Marine Aquatic Working Group

INAC: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

ISBM: Individual stock based management (Chinook)

ISC: Interim Steering Committee

ISDF: Integrated Salmon Dialogue Forum

ITO: Intertribal Treaty Organization

IVQ: Individual vessel quota


JTWG: Joint Technical Working Group



LFFA: Lower Fraser Fisheries Alliance

LOU: Letter of Understanding

LRP: Limit reference point


MCC: Marine Conservation Caucus

MLP: Mandatory landing program

MMTC: Musgamagw Tsawataineuk Tribal Council

MOE: Ministry of Environment

MOU: Memorandum of Understanding

MPB: Mountain Pine Beetle

MSC: Marine Stewardship Council

MSF: Mark selective fishery

MSY: Maximum sustainable yield

MVI: Mid Vancouver Island


NASAPI: National Aquaculture Strategic Action Plan Initiative

NBBC: Native Brotherhood of British Columbia

NCSFNSS: North Coast Skeena First Nations Stewardship Society

NFA: Native Fishing Association

NGO: Non-Governmental Organization

NHQ: National Headquarters

NNTC: Nlaka’pamux Nation Tribal Council

NPAFC: North Pacific Anadromous Fish Commission

NSTC: Northern Shuswap Tribal Council

NTA: Nicola Tribal Association

NTC: Nuu-chah-nulth Tribal Council

NWIFC: Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission

NWSFA: Nicola Watershed Stewardship and Fisheries Authority


OHSAR: Oceans, Habitat and Species at Risk

ONA: Okanagan Nation Alliance

OSR: Own source revenue


PICFI: Pacific Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative

PIT: Passive internal transponder

PMO: Prime Minister’s Office

PNCIMA: Pacific North Coast Integrated Management Area

PSARC: Pacific Science Advice Review Committee (now CSAP)

PSC: Pacific Salmon Commission

PSF: Pacific Salmon Foundation

PST: Pacific Salmon Treaty

PTO: Provincial Territorial Organization OR Political and Treaty Organization



RASRR: Release of Aquaculture Substances Regulatory Regime

RDG: Regional Director General

RFO: Regional Fisheries Organization

RHQ: Regional Headquarters


SARA: Species At Risk Act

SCC/Salmon CC: Salmon Coordinating Committee

SCC: Supreme Court of Canada

SCVI: South Coast Vancouver Island

SEP: Salmonid Enhancement Program

SFAB: Sport Fishing Advisory Board

SFC: Secwepemc Fisheries Commission

SFC: Skeena Fisheries Commission

SNTC: Shuswap Nation Tribal Council

SPI: Strategic Partnerships Initiative

SSHRC: Social Science and Humanities Research Council

STC: Sto:lo Tribal Council


TAC: Total allowable catch

TAM: Total allowable mortality

TAPD: Treaty and Aboriginal Policy Directorate

TB: Treasury Board

TEK: Traditional ecological knowledge

TNG: Tsilhqot’in National Government

TOR: Terms of Reference


UBCIC: Union of BC Indian Chiefs

UFFCA: Upper Fraser Fisheries Conservation Alliance

UNDRIP: United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples



WCVI: West Coast Vancouver Island

WFSI: Water for Fish Stewardship Initiative

WSP: Wild Salmon Policy