First Nations Fisheries

A United Voice for First Nations Fisheries


The FNFC heard from First Nations that the Council structure must reflect the diversity in geography, expertise, and perspectives of the many First Nations communities in British Columbia. The current Council structure of 14 Regional Delegates was ratified at the February 2009 Fisheries Assembly, and endorsed by resolution through the BC Assembly of First Nations, the Union of BC Indian Chiefs, and the First Nations Summit.

Northern Transboundry

Haida Gwaii

Upper Fraser

Upper Skeena

North Coast

Central Coast

Mid-Fraser (2 seats)

Transboudary Columbia

Fraser Valley

Lower Mainland

South Island and Mainland Inlets

North Island and Mainland Inlets

West Coast Vancouver Island